Library Birthday Books!

New Books for Our LibraryLast week, I had a “special” birthday. I asked some friends who helped me celebrate not to get presents, but to consider buying a book or book gift card for the Mira Costa High School Library. In the photo above, you can see the wonderful titles I received for our library. I’m excited about all these great additions to our collection. They include:

  • Discovering the Art of Japan by Tsuneko S. Sadao and Stephanie Wada
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly (2 copies)
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Swamplandia by Karen Russell

I also have gift cards I will be spending during the break next week. Watch for another posting about the additional books I’ll be adding to the library in honor of my birthday.

24 thoughts on “Library Birthday Books!

  1. Wow! that’s exciting!! I heard from some friends that those books are really good reads!….Hope you had a great birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday!
    Thats so sweet of you got all of those books for Costa.
    I have the Book Thief, but have yet to read it, is it worth my while?

    • Dear Hanna,

      I think you will love The Book Thief. It offers an unusual perspective on the Holocaust, since the characters are Germans who are obliged to support Hitler and the Nazis, but who are not comfortable doing so.

      Sincerely,
      Mrs. Lofton

  3. That’s amazing! All those incoming Costa students are very lucky to have such generous people! Im interested in reading the Hunger Games, is it worth my time?

    • Dear Sean,

      Yes. Hunger Games is one of the best books I have read in several years. And, there are two great sequels once you finish it. Don’t miss it. We have several copies available in the library for you.

      Mrs. Lofton

  4. Dear Ms. Lofton,

    Happy Birthday! You are a wonderful human being who dedicates your life to reading books! That is so cool of you! I wish I could be a librarian someday!

  5. the hunger games is a really good book, I just finished mockingjay. i wish there were more new books at the library.

  6. A very happy birthday to you, Ms. Lofton!

    I wonder if you’d consider getting the unabriged version of Les Miserables by Victor Hugo? It’s one of my favorite books, and if it ‘s in the school library, maybe more students could be exposed to its genius.
    Also, any possibility complete series such as “His Darke Materials” (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass) or the Eragon books would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *