California Young Reader Medal

cyrm

The Mira Costa HS Library is participating in the annual California Young Reader Medal voting. Each year, students throughout California nominate favorite books in different age-group categories, and three nominees are identified for each category. The Young Adult category books for 2010-2011 are:

  • Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman
  • The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson

Mira Costa students who read all three of the Young Adult category books by March 31 can vote for their favorite at the Mira Costa Library and we will submit all Mira Costa votes to help determine the medal winner. The library will also hold a prize drawing of all Mira Costa voters and the lucky winner will receive a copy of one of the 2011-2012 nominated books.

Be sure to come by the library and borrow these great books, and don’t forget to cast your ballot at the Mira Costa Library on or before March 31.

7 thoughts on “California Young Reader Medal

  1. I remember voting in the CYRM contest in elementary school. I had no idea that they still had the contest at the high school level. I will remember to vote!

  2. I know a lot of people love The Hunger Games, but I really want Neal Shusterman to win this contest. I love his books because he is so amazing at storytelling and capturing a reader’s attention. He’s written so many incredible books, and Unwind is definitely one of my favorites along with Everlost, which is not here in this library. Mrs. Lofton, you should really get some of his books for the library!

    • I am also a Neal Shusterman fan, Madison, and I am working to get more of his books in our library. I did just get two copies of Everlost, and am working on orders for more of his titles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *